Hair Care, Product Reviews

Review: NYM Naturals Tahitian Gardenia Flower and Mango Butter Shampoo & Conditioner

Lately, I’ve been noticing more mainstream brands jump on the natural and clean beauty bandwagon. I don’t know how you feel about it, but I think it’s exciting! And I know what some of you naysayers will say “They’re just doing it for the money” or “It’s just a trend.” And maybe it is. But then you have to ask yourself, why? Why is it a money maker? Why is it a trend?

There could be a plethora of reasons but I think the most compelling is that’s where the market is going. People are waking up to the dangers of chemicals in their skincare products, food, even in the air around them and they want to minimize their exposure. Not only do they want to minimize exposure, but they want to put more on (and in their body) that’s good for them. To me, that is exciting because it means more natural options and (hopefully) less toxic products on the market.

One brand that recently released a new naturals line is Not Your Mother’s. According to their website:

Not Your Mother’s® Naturals delivers nourishing haircare that’s consciously made for your hair and our world. Exotic natural blends and worry-free ingredients provide beautiful hair, everyday.

They refer to the formulas in their naturals line as being “undressed” (I love that!) and free of sulfates, silicones, parabens, phthalates, gluten and synthetic dyes.

Now I’m really excited, especially because I’ve always like their conventional products (but reduced my use when I switched over to using natural products exclusively).

Their release of a naturals line was perfect timing as I was *almost* out of my normal brand of shampoo and conditioner and wanted a change (what beauty junkie doesn’t?).

File_004 (1)

So I hopped over to Ulta and picked up the TAHITIAN GARDENIA FLOWER AND MANGO BUTTER shampoo and conditioner.  I have wavy hair (curly on the underside, slightly frizzy on the top). I have a lot of hair, but it’s fine and prematurely gray (can you say nightmare?). I was really excited to see if this curl defining line would be able to do the unthinkable: moisturize my curls without leaving my hair heavy. It’s a tall order, I know. But I’ve had luck with a couple other natural brands (plus Ulta has an amazing return policy) so I thought, why not?

Before I dig into my review let me just say this — NYM is a packaging rockstar. The packaging is gorgeous, they include pumps to dispense the product (can I get an amen?), and they color code the pumps (black for shampoo, clear for conditioner). If we were going for aesthetics and convenience alone they’d get a 5/5. Love, love, love their packaging.

Standout Ingredients: Tahitian gardenia flower, mango butter.

Formulas:

Shampoo: The shampoo smelled really good. There was definitely a strong scent of gardenia, but I didn’t feel it was overpowering or synthetic smelling. The shampoo had a good lather.

Conditioner:  The conditioner did not smell as good as the shampoo. It seemed like there was an imbalance between the gardenia and the mango butter that almost gave a sour smell. The conditioner felt light and I felt I needed to use an extra pump or two to get enough to work through my hair.

File_001 (2)The ingredients are clean, both come in a convenient pump and the shampoo smells like heaven. The price was right (especially with the buy 1 get on 50% sale that Ulta was running).

The Bad: While the shampoo did leave my hair feeling clean, it also left it feeling dry and knotted. The conditioner wasn’t effective enough to combat the dryness that the shampoo created or to get the knots out, even when I used extra. The conditioner just lacked the slip I am used to with my other conditioner.  I let my hair air dry and it was extremely frizzy and felt like straw on the end and top. My waves felt flat.

Rating: 2/5

Price Point: Website ($9), Ulta ($8.99)

I tried this shampoo and conditioner for a week and decided it just wasn’t a good fit for my hair. But there are other stellar reviews on it, so perhaps if you have different types of curls it may work for you just fine. Because of Ulta’s great return policy, I was able to bring these back and get my regular shampoo and conditioner. But I am interested to see if some of the other products in the NYM Naturals line will work for me in the future.

Have you tried any of the NYM Naturals line yet? If so, which products did you try and what do you think? Let me know in the comments below!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

