Product Reviews, Uncategorized

Review: Andalou Naturals Meyer Lemon Creamy Cleanser

I don’t know about you, but I’ve noticed that as I get older I’ve had to shake up my skincare routine. In my teens, I had oily acne prone skin. Once I hit my twenties, that became combination skin with congested pores. Now that I’m in my thirties, I’ve found my skincare needs have changed yet again.

I’m now experiencing something I have never experienced before: dry skin.

Honestly, it took me by surprise. I have never had dry skin in my life. Ever. But this winter has been a doozy. My skin has been flaky, dull, and congested. But the congestion is different. Not the oily blackheads of my youth. More like the dry skin is getting trapped in my oversized pores and then camping out there.

Yuck.

Exfoliation has helped some, but I have noticed that my favorite gel cleanser (Acure Facial Cleansing Gel) is just not cutting it for the winter months.

So now I’m on the hunt for something that I have never imagined I would need: a cream cleanser.

It’s certainly a brave new world (at least in the skincare department).

As would be expected from a skincare lover like myself, it didn’t take long to rack up a long wishlist of cream cleansers I want to try. But this girl has a budget and so I wanted to start at the more reasonable end of the spectrum.

Enter Andalou Naturals Meyer Lemon + Vitamin C Creamy Cleanser.file_001-1

There were three things that drew me to try this first (besides the reasonable price tag):

  1. It’s creamy, but for normal/combo skin (dry patches & t-zone shine)
  2. It’s 99% nature derived & non-GMO verified (also gluten-free and cruelty-free)
  3. It claims to be brightening

Formula: Creamy, but actually more gel-like than I anticipated. It smells mildly lemony and cleanses more like a gel than a cream. It doesn’t really lather so if you’re looking for something that does, this wouldn’t be for you.

Standout Ingredients: Manuka honey, Meyer lemon juice, sea buckthorn, fruit stem cells, and BioActive 8 berry complex. (For more info on Fruit Stem Cell science click here.)

file_000-4The Good: Even though this cleanser is more gel-like than creamy, it’s surprisingly not drying. I wouldn’t call it moisturizing (which is what I was actually looking for) but my face didn’t feel stripped at all. I definitely feel “brighter” when I use it, which is great because I’m really struggling with dull skin right now. I adore the ingredient list: manuka honey, lemon, and sea buckthorn are three favorites of mine.

The Bad: Not really a cream. Not even sure I would describe it as creamy even, despite the cloudy color. Also, I dislike the smell. I was expecting a burst of lemony goodness, but it’s really more of a faint, cleaner-like lemon smell.

Rating: 4/5

Price Point: $12.95 (website) $10.39 (Amazon)

I think this is a cleanser I would use in the warmer months or on a day in need some extra brightening power. It doesn’t really meet my cream cleanser requirements and I’m not a fan of the smell, but I still like it. I just wouldn’t use it in the winter time.

Do you have some suggestions for a cream cleanser that you love? Please leave a comment below and let me know. I’m always open for recommendations.

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed in this post are my own. I have not been given any products in exchange for a review nor has Andalou Naturals endorsed this post. I just love reviewing new products!

 

 

 

